What's the most important factor in light-gathering?

thaddeus

What's the most important factor in light-gathering?

Is it mainly do to the width of the objective?

Quality of scope or glass?

For example, comparing a midline quality scope like a Redline with a 40mm objective, with a nicer scope like a Leupold with a 20mm objective...which one is giong to have the best light gathering abilities? (both on the same low power, like 3X for example)

Are there other factors involved with objective width and quality of glass?
Clarity? Contrast?
What about Field of View? Does quality affect FOV, or only objective width?

How about speed of aquisition, on a snap shot? Is quality all that matters, or is the larger objective going to give the quicker aquisition due to larger FOV and more light?

thanks!
thaddeus

I am not an optics expert, but I consult with them about my scope purchases... ;)... I have been discussing the advantages of larger objectives in terms of light gathering with a couple people recently. Though opinions of professional/experiences shooters is mixed, and actually seems to favor the larger objectives, assuming that they are significantly better than the smaller ones, the reps form the companies seem to disagree.

In fact, The Leupold National rep told me last week that the 50 mm objectives offer only an 8-10% over the 40mm objectives in their high end scopes. That 8% advantage, he says, would be important only uner precise cirucmstances.. he mentioned hunting before sunrise or after sunset in the South East U.S. as examples of when it would matter.
One disadvantage of the larger objective is also the need for higher mounts, which can affect the way your head rests on the gun and will affect the deviation of the Point of impact versus the Crosshairs with range.

Yo thad, whassup

Me again, just trying to get sleepy before bedtime.

Think of light gathering as if you were catching rain in a funnel - the bigger the big end is, the more light you gather.