whats needed to square bolt face

skizzums

I have a finnish nagant that I have chpped the barrel and going into a new stock with pillars, muzzle brake etc. got the target crown down. I was curious about squaring the bolt face and what tools are needed and just how difficult it would be. I have a mill/lathe and a full size lathe but I have zero experience with the practice.

You have to have a mandrel that will fit inside the receiver, and it needs to be able to fit with no play, and be locked to the receiver. You mount the mandrel in your lathe, as it is in line with the center line of the receiver, so when you make a facing cut at the receiver's front, it will square the receiver to the center line.

hmmm....that doesn't SOUND hard, but I am sure it is once you get into it. anywhere I can get some pictures or literature that explains the process start to finish?

Agreed with Dixie for the most part.Thats about trueing the receiver face ,and that may be the foundation the barrel rests on...unless like a military Mauser barrel,the barrel has no shoulder.I do not know your particular rifle.

In any case,the critical surface the barrel tightens against should be square to the threads so when the barrel tightens there is a good,evenly loaded 360 deg foundation for the barrel.

That's all good,but realize its done with the barrel out,and you have removed steel,so your front sight will not be indexed any more and your headspace has shortened.Bummer.

And your bolt face may not be square to the bore,which was your question.

I'm not trying to rain on your parade,you are thinking right!!I'm trying to let you know there is a lot to what you want to do.

The receiver threads are likely cut in a different operation than the receiver bolt bore.They likely are not perfectly co-axial.Some blueprint jobs involve re-chasing the receiver threads co-axial to the bore.That is not easy.

Then there are the surfaces the locking lugs rest on in battery.Worn? set back?