What's a good smallbore revolver?

87IROC

Inactive
I am looking for a good small caliber revolver to get for home protection and to teach my fiance her way around a gun. I already have a .45 1911 but want to start her small to get her acclimated to them.

Any suggestions? I'm thinking .22 but wouldn't mind something a bit bigger. I'm new to gun collecting so I am not sure if anything even exists.

Thanks,

Just a bit bigger?

I would suggest a .357 revolver, such as a police trade-in. They're solid, cheap, reliable, and simple. Lots of avaliable, good-quality brands. (Colt, Ruger, S&W, Taurus, etc.)

You start out with .38 Specials. All .357's will be quite mild to shoot with .38's if they're not snubbies, and Specials are quite inexpensive, although not as cheap as .22's.

And the added bonus is you get to move up to +P's, and then full-house .357's in a gradual progression. and at the end, you still have an excellent defense/target gun to have around to protect you and provide years of enjoyment.

Since you have a 45, I would suggest supplementing w/ a 22lr revolver. Great CHEAP practice and lots of fun. People will always go back to something they enjoy and 22's are FUN to shoot. I've seen some people really dislike 38 specials and never want to touch a gun again. 22's are all day fun, then as you progress, you can shoot light loads through your 45 and progress on from there.
Good luck!

Greeting's All,

I wouldn't think of any caliber smaller than .38 Special, for
home defense.:D In today's society, filled with dope addict's
and pill head's even the largest of caliber's will fail in
some instance's.:eek: I perfer the old .45 ACP for home
defense, with it being a big, fat, slow moving bullet with
plenty of punch.:)

Best Wishes,
Ala Dan, N.R.A. Life Member

PERFECT CHOICE

S&W offers their stainless J-frame in 22LR with a three-inch barrel and adjustable sights.

That is a 'buy'.

$$$