What would you treat a new raw wood stock with?

FunGramps

I'm expecting to receive a new Zastava M70 AK47 in a few weeks. It has the dark stained finish, but I've heard they have nothing else applied to the wood, and it's still porous.

Any suggestions on how what I should apply to the wood? I'm thinking maybe beeswax? I don't want a varnish-type surface that can peel or crack.

Thanks.

zastava.jpg

I'm no expert. It might matter what the factory already put on it. I don't know what they come with.
Its not unusual for a military grade wood stock to be finished with linseed or tung oil. If thats what it looks like ,thats probably what it is.
If its started as an oil finish,you may have a compatability issue if you try? a urethane,for example.Linseed might be traditional. Its not really great stuff. It will do. Tung ,IMO,is a little better. You might be able to use LinSpeed or True-Oil ... Watco makes a marine grade tung sort of a Danish oil.

Here is the thing to know. Don't paint on a coat. You don't want to build it up on top of the wood. You'll get a gummy mess.
You apply a few drops and rub it into the wood.Rub it till it gets warm.It can have a soft shine but no wet coat.Then give it a couple of weeks at least. Then you can give it a few more drops.

Realize you get caught obsessively rubbing your gun all the time people are going to talk about you. Have fun.

I've gotten excellent results using pure Tung oil.

M4-Winchester-E2.2.JPG

Last edited:
I'd contact the manufacturer and ask whether they actually ship them unfinished or, if not, what they used. I find it hard to believe they wouldn't have any finish other than stain but perhaps that's a "feature"..

If they truly are unfinished, I'd apply a water-based polyurethane applied in multiple VERY light coats using a rag.

tru-oil gun stock finish