What type of semi-auto action in a 3d printed rifle

superking75

Inactive
Ok before I start yes this is an off question and I don't think I will ever try it but, I would like to know.

If you were to make a semi-automatic rifle almost completely by a plastic 3d printer(Of course somethings just can't be:barrel,chamber,firing pin etc) What type of action would it have and how would it work? Why?

Or any just outright idea on 3d printed firearms.

Add action (assuming you mean receiver by that term) to that list of metal objects.

I'm not aware of any plastic that will have the hardness and strength- and probably abrasion resistance as well, required for the pressures and bolt thrust generated by centerfire cartridges; but I'm no engineer and have little knowledge of "exotic" plastics.

Maybe a .22 rimfire, but that's a different animal.

I would use a simple blow-back action chambering the lowest pressure cartridge I could find.

You'd need a good-sized 3D printer since the bolt would probably be the size of a car.

"...some things would need to be metal..." Think in terms of everything that's steel now CANNOT be plastic. Any cf rifle works at over 45,000 psi of pressure. AND the plastic would have to be 100% fire proof.

The least amount of parts that can be metal, in my eyes, include the bolt carrier group, barrel, locking lugs, and barrel extension/trunnion. Considering the complicated machining of these parts, it would kind of defeat the point of 3d printing. What thought experiment are you pursuing?

The only gun design that would even come close to working, with a plastic receiver, would be the inertia driven system similar to Beneli's shotguns, where you would still have a steel rotating bolt locked into the rear of a steel barrel. Then, many parts in the trigger group, and most likely the feeding group, would have to be steel, as they can't be allowed to flex.