What spotting scope do you use?

mic007tfp

I'm in the market for a spotting scope since I found out today I can barely see anything with a stupid pair of binoculars. Any suggestions would be helpful.

mic007tfp,

As with any tool, including optical devices, your intended application dictates the design and features. Are you going to use it for:
looking at holes in paper less than 50 yards?
looking at holes in paper at 100+ yards?
locating large game at distances?
locating small game in cover?
viewing the cosmos?
photography at variable distances?

Once we've narrowed this down a bit, we can give you a more refined recommendation.

Mykl

I have a Bushnell Spacemaster 15-45x60mm Camo (Model 78-1217). Its rubber armored and comes with tripod and backpack carrying case.

781217.jpg

I bought mine for about $325 a few years ago. I'm very happy with it.

Bushnell also has a Variable Camera Mount and serveral interchangable eyepieces you can buy for the Spacemaster. I'm thinking about getting one of the 60x eyepieces for mine.

Chuck

[This message has been edited by chucko (edited August 18, 1999).]

Sorry for being a little vague about my use, but I plan to use it to evaluate paper punching at 50-150 yrds. Pretty much for spotting my shots. Not really for game hunting or anything of that sort.

For the range, I bring along a Leupold 12x40 60mm spotting scope. I had their Packer tripod, but found it too high for bench use. Bought a generic cheapie tripod for under $25 and it works great.

Use to have a Swift Discover but gave that away. It wasn't as clear or bright as the Leupold.

------------------
Vigilantibus et non dormientibus jura subveniunt

So, how about a relatively INEXPENSIVE spotting scope? I'd love to get a Leupold , but can't afford one. Anything any good in the $200 to $250 range?

Thanks,
Gino