What manufacturer is this?

Joedrt73

Inactive
I have a Mauser action chambered in 22-250 but have no idea where it was made. I have a pic of the side of the action and can provide numbers if you will tell me where to look.

Thanks in advance for your helps and expertise.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    56.8 KB · Views: 103
Hi.

Can I ask a question, and also make a suggestion?

Firstly, could we see more photos, of the entire firearm?

Secondly, can I suggest that you turn your camera 90* to the left or right? No offense but I'm not interested in the stuff above and below, I want to see the gun :)

Looks like Lac 98.

"lac Zuchthaus (penitentiary) Coswig, Anhalt. The marks of this breeding station have been mistakenly identified with optical equipment - owing to confusion with 'lae', below."

Welcome to the forum! I'm sure someone will be along shortly with
more and better info than I have provided!:)

The marking is Kar 98 in German fraktur letters.
I am not a pro on Mausers but if it is a real pre-1918 Kar 98 carbine, it was likely made by the Imperial Arsenal at Erfurt, maybe Danzig or Amberg, maybe by Mauser themselves.

It might retain proof markings and there might be an arsenal mark or national crest under the front scope base.

You do understand that it is a fully sporterized military surplus Mauser, don't you? There is nothing left of what came out of Germany but the receiver and bolt, maybe the trigger guard. Everything else was changed out to make it into a varmint rifle. The original manufacturer of the action is kind of immaterial by now.

Thanks for the replies. I went ahead and traded it. Just don't know enough about them. I would like to have a complete Mauser rifle from Mauser themselves.

Anyone know a good source for one?