What kind of bullet weights for .45 Colt?

SeeThirty

Inactive
I'm new to BP, and I'm considering an eventual R&D converter cylinder for the 1858 Remington replica I'm purchasing.

What I'm wondering, even seeing all the factory "cowboy action" ammo, things seem to vary in grains from 200, 250, 235...

What are the general minimum and maximum weights for a .45 Colt cartridge using my 1858 Remmie? Not for cowboy action matches, but for hunting purposes, and just to see what I might squeeze out.

I see alot of mention of people bringing down a deer with .45 Colt, but alot of the "hunting loads" can be as large as a 350 grain bullet or more, and discussion seems to center such big loads on the T/C Contender or Ruger models. What kinds of bullets might I be safe to try?

I would think the minimum would be 141 gr (round ball) and the maximum would be 250 gr. This is the range of bullet weights for standard loads for the .45 Colt in my Speer Handloading manual.

The heavier hunting bullets are usually jacketed and loaded for Blackhawks and Contenders, and should not be used in guns desgined for BP pressures.

I have a converted Ruger Old Army and I use round ball or 220 gr RN, for small game hunting. If I was to hunt black tail deer on the westside, I would go with a 250 gr SWC.

Re:

Thanks. :)

I definitely wouldn't be putting anything "hot" in my gun. Just curious what my options are. I don't expect to be putting any round balls in cartridges, but it's good to know min/max figures.

I did a little searching, and all I was able to find is 200 and 250 grains in .45 Colt cowboy ammo, with the 250 much more common. Wouldn't surprise me to find somebody offers other weights (especially 255 grains, which seems more or less interchangeable with 250 grains) but if so it's not common enough to be instantly obvious.