What do you guys shoot for bullseye matches?

mk70ss

I shoot a Ruger Mark III with a Millet red dot, Herret adjustable wood target grips, and a little trigger work. here's some pics. What do you guys use?

guns007.jpg

guns006.jpg

Buckmark

Hi MK70,
Nice looking Ruger. I like the Herrett Nats! I had a set on here off a 1911 for a long time.
This thing has a trigger on it better than anything I have shot before. I did it myself and I have been expecting it to fail for the last two years but it keeps chugging.
I shoot it in Bowling pin matches too and the trigger takes a beating.
This gun just suits me as I could shoot what ever I want but I have always shot this thing well and like it.
I like the Rugers but I could never get a trigger on one like I wanted it to be. ( I wrecked more than a few sets of hammers and sears when I was younger) Bob Marvel claimed he could get close to a pound trigger on the Rugers years ago. I don't know what it would take to get him to do it or if he would anymore. I shot a Mk1 with the factory muzzle brake for a couple of years. I don't remember what I did with that gun but I wish I would have kept it now.
I expect my second choice would be a good High Standard.
I better go. Here's the Buckmark!
Thanks
Mike
d636b8ab.jpg

Last edited:
That is a beauty! Great peice of wood on your grip. I always liked the Buckmarks. Keep 'em in the 10 ring.:)

For the .22 match, either a HS Victor, Trophy or Marvel Conversion on a Caspian frame.
For the Centerfire, a Clark 1911 .38 Special conversion Heavy slide.
For the .45 match, either a Clark 1911 Heavy Slide or a Series 70 Gold Cup.
For EIC matches, a SA 1911A1 with Bo-mar sights.
No red dots on any of the above.

Bullseye gun

I mostly shoot PPC, IPSC & IDPA. I do shoot the 50 ft National Gallery Course indoors with a .22 in the winter.

I use a 1960s vintage High Standard Supermatic Citation with the 7-1/4 inch fluted barrel, with grips by Randall Fung.

http://funggrip.jnb.com/