Wal-Mart Remington 700's

golfnutrlv

I know this has been out there before, but can't find the old thread.

Is there any quality difference between a standard 700 and the Wal Mart version?

The rifle would be used as a donor for a custom build, so action and bolt is all i'm really concerned with.

I suppose the suspicion is that a WalMart 700 might not be up to the normal quality standards for the model. I do not know as I have no experience with guns at WalMart. I wonder, though, if the gun would indeed be labeled "Remington Model 700," why would Remington want to jeopardize their reputation by putting a substandard version in a discount store, or any other sales venue? I think WalMart is OK - I shop there a lot, but not for guns. I prefer to spend my gun allowance at a reputable gun shop that is trying to make a living by serving me with a good selection of quality shooting products.

Same quality for the same rifle. As a rule Walmart tends to carry only the most basic budget guns made by each manufacturer. You can get the upper end rifles at Walmart, but may have to special order it. A budget SPS from Walmart is the same SPS bought anywhere else. A top end CDL from Walmart is the same as a CDL bought elsewhere.

Walmart has ordered special runs of various guns over the years with unique features not available on standard guns. Not just 700's but Rugers and many other brands.

This is not unique to Walmart. Remington has made special runs of guns that were only available at Cabelas, Gander Mt., or at Dicks Sporting goods etc.

The rifle would be used as a donor for a custom build, so action and bolt is all i'm really concerned with.

You'd be better off buying a used version cheap.