vihtaVuori powder

NHSHOOTER

I have been reloading for about 12 yrs and have never really come across VihtaVuori powder for sale at any LGS which was about the only place i ever bought powder, now times have changed and with powder access being so tough I am now seeing VihtaVuori powder on sale online, checked my manuals and see that it is the middle of the road powder for some of my rifles, what I am wondering what your opinions are on this powder.. I reload for 7-08, 25-06, 243, 223 and 22-250..for what its worth..

From what i have read its good quality powder. But on the shops i have seen it in, its been a fair bit more expensive than the other powders

I like N-310

There was some 3N38 (or whatever its name is) at my LGS about a week or two ago - it's gone now.

I have a couple #'s of N-310. It's fantastic. N-310 happens to be super fast (faster than Bullseye, for instance) so it's not that versatile. I only use it for super light 38 Special and 45 ACP loads. My point being, that maybe it's not the best one to form an over-arching opinion of Vihtavuori propellants.

I will tell you that it runs super clean - even when underloaded (yes, as fast as N-310 is, I have underloaded it :p). It also smells different than all my other propellants. I smells rather "flat," and a bit like dirt. Whereas, all my others have that fragrant, chemical, yet pleasant smell. My best descriptions, sorry. I suppose it's because it's a single-base propellant; not a double-base. Just a guess.

And yes, it's expensive.

N110 is very similar in burn rate and handbook loading weights to H110, and Speer #12 published very good velocities using N110 in the .357 Mag, so I bought a pound. This was at least 20 years ago. It was more expensive than "better known" powders like Hodgdon, Hercules/Alliant but I was pretty ignorant and thought velocity was king.