Very dissapointed

Ldoll

I finally tracked down a Rem. 700 PSS and went to look at it yesterday. At first it looked nice, until I held it. The bore was filthy, so I couldn't tell if the rifling was scratched or not. It didn't really matter because the muzzle crown was scratched. The dealer told me he only fired around 60 rounds through it, but it was too hard to believe. Even the stock was cracked near the reciever. I'm no expert, but wouldn't it take a nasty fall to crack a synthetic stock? Does anyone know if the barrel is supposed to be free floated? The barrel wasn't touching the sides of the stock, but where it left the stock, the bottom of the barrel was resting on the stock.

My winchesters never gave me a problem, I just thought I would try something new. Until I can afford a custom gun, i'll be sticking with winchester.

By the way, ford or chevy? Chevy all the way!

FORD= Found On Road Dead

------------------

L.D.

Sounds like you found a junker. Not sure on the freefloating barrel, but the half dozen or so PSS's I've shot have all shot well. Had a couple that shot very well and one that needed major load developement. (then it shot quite nicely)

Giz

Could the dealer explain the cracked stock? Maybe the dealer only fired 60 rds. and someone else fired 2000. How much is he asking? For a rifle in the condition you described it better be dirt cheap. Might be able to make a project out of it. New stock and such. Have a smith recrown it. Ask the dealer if you can drop a patch through the barrel. If the barrel is resting on the stock then it's not floated, but if a new stock is needed then it could be floated.

------------------
bullet placement is gun control