Velocity issue.

First off let me say that I'm fairly new to the precision shooting world. I have a Rem 700 .308 with a 20" 1:10 twist. I JUST started reloading and am experimenting with it still. The other day I took 30 rnds out to test fire with my rifle and chronograph. I loaded them with once shot casing I had, 40g of Rx-15 and Sierra 168 grn BTHP. It was a hotter humid day and I started off shooting upwards of 3200 fps. After about half way through, my velocity dropped to around 2300 fps. I snaked my barrel two times five times each with no change. What gives?

The chronograph might have been too close to the muzzle, so the blast triggered it.
The chronograph might need new batteries.
The 2300 reading might be right.

2300 does sound right for a 20" barrel. I agree that the higher velocity probably came from the muzzle blast which will give erratic readings.

For the record, 40g reads as 40 grams, 40 grains would be 40gr.

15 feet should be about right for a 308. That's an approximate industry standard, used for factory ammo. It works for almost all guns, except those with truly excessive muzzle blast.

I'd say the 2300 fps would be better than 3200 fps. 3200 fps sounds like there would be some serious pressure going on in a .308. I don't shoot a .308 and don't have my manuals handy but that speed sounds excessive on all counts.

Technically, he's right about the powder. The real abbreviation is RX15 but people still write it as RL-15 most times. It's all over the manuals with the X.

308 has quite a bi t of muzzle blast. Just keep moving back until readings stabilize.

The real abbreviation is RX15 but people still write it as RL-15 most times. It's all over the manuals with the X.