Varmint and .223s

Balzac

Inactive
I am new to hunting but would like to ease into the action with a gun for medium to larger sized varmint. I am looking along the lines of the Ruger Ranch Rifle. How is the .223 for game like beaver and coyote, etc?

I'd say .223 should be just about perfect out to medium or medium-plus range. I'd get something more accurate than a mini-14 for varmints, however.

Last edited:
It should work well for what you want it for. I would say look into an AR15 if they are legal to hunt with in ur area. Other than that, maybe a Rem 700 VSS or something like that.

depends

If you are looking for a dedicated varmint rifle then there are tons of good bolt rifles out there, some inexpensive and accurate ( savage is a good example ) all the way up to semi custom bolt rifles costing $thousands...

If you want a semi you are better off with an ar-15, but by the time you trick it out and hang good glass on it you are going to be easily over $1500. There isn't much need for a semi in the field, unless you want to try running shots at fast moving coyotes. ( not a very suscessful proposition )

For hunting on a budget get a decent bolt in .223 and good glass. You should be able to put together a decent rifle and scope for under $1000. Spend the extra money on ammo.

My choices would be a savage 12, remington 700VLS or SPS, ruger 77.
I love the feel of a sako but have never shot one.

The Mini 14 is plenty good for the first shot from a cold barrel going where the last shot went from a cold barrel. You don't shoot for tight groups on varmints. Well, maybeso prairie dogs. :) I've never had the occasion to shoot at mobs of coyotes and get the barrel all heated up. :D

After my prairie dog hunting this last Saturday, I'd say the .223 is fine to 300 yards; wind and holdover get tricky beyond that. I don't think I'd go for coyotes beyond 150 yards or so, from a clean kill standpoint. Jackrabbits are easier to hit than prairie dogs, so 250 or 300 yards...