Various - flechettes? Auto vs. pump?

pocat

I'm a novice shotgunner. I just bought a Mossberg 500 with the 18 1/2" barrel and synthetic stock, pimarily for home-defense. I've been looking into the various threads here about ammo (shot size) to use for this purpose. I've decided on a particular round, but I won't disclose that to avoid another lengthy discussion on this controversial topic...:rolleyes:

1. Anyway, I read somewhere a while back about flechette ammo in shotguns was used experimentally in VietNam, and kills were reported out to 200+ yds. I don't really know much else about this type of ammo, except what a flechette looks like and that there are about 20 of them in one shell. Does this round have any reliable, practical purpose concerning self-defense and/or hunting? I've searched around on the 'net for more info, but haven't had much luck. Any manufacturers for this exotic round? Any related web links would be appreciated.

2. I often hear about how pumps are far more reliable than autos. I can understand this because of my familiarity with revolvers vs. semi-autos (pistols). However, I have shot a few autos in various gauges, and I've never seen anything close to a malfunction. What type of failures are encountered with autos?

From FirearmsTactical:

Some shotgun cartridges are loaded with flechettes. These are small, steel, pointed dart-like projectiles with aft stabilization fins, and are commonly referred to as "nails with tails." The low cross sectional area of a single flechette, combined with the small amount of flechettes that can be loaded into a shotshell, makes them an inferior choice for home defense when compared to buckshot.

Also, according to Second Chance Body Armor Company, flechettes are not effective against soft body armor, if this is a particular mission requirement for your ammunition. Steel shot also is ineffective against soft body armor.