Using Iron sights accurately???

chadflys

I'm new to this target shooting and would like to be competitive someday...Got my MKII 512 target a month ago. Some advice that I had received a while back was to get to where I could hold the 5.5 ring at 75ft., at which point I'd be good enough for a trigger modification. I hold the 5.5 at 75ft about 60% of time.

Is that reasonable? I've gone through about 800 rnds now and its hard to say I've improved. I'd say I could consistantly hit a dime at 10 and 15ft....at 20ft about a 1.5in group....at 30ft I start having trouble keeping it inside 3in....consistantly.

With a 2x scope my groups were inside 3in at 75ft. Just sold it.. :(

What should I expect from myself as a fairly novice shooter?
Should I go ahead and upgrade my trigger now?
Are there better iron sights than the standard target sights that come on it? (that I can see better?)

Any tips or advise for that matter would be greatly appreciated!!!

Thanks,

Chad

accuracy

The guys I shoot against in bullseye put 10 shots inside 3 inches at 50 feet consistently. They are very good. I don't do as well, but they have decades more experience than my three years.

3 inches at 30 feet will approximately equate to 5 inches at 50 feet. That is better than I do most of the time. If you think you are limited by your equipment, upgrade. If that is not the case, practice. In my case for now my equipment is more capable than I am and I probably shoot 4000 rounds a year through my Rugers and Brownings. I shoot equally well(or badly)with iron sights and a red dot, go figure.

Get some coaching. Read the Army Marksmanship Manual several times. There's a lot in there.

Good luck and keep shooting.

You are doing good, definitely on the right track.

Trigger:
It would be good if you could weigh the trigger now, to get an idea. But let's say its between 4 and 6 lbs.

I hold the 5.5 at 75ft about 60% of time

Progress: