Used wrong shell holder for resizing, priming.

Reloader31

Inactive
Yesterday I resized and primed about 50 .300blk rounds. After doing so, I realized I had used my 9mm shellholder by mistake. I’m new to reloading, so I didn’t immediately realize there was a problem as I was doing the resizing. But now looking back I did notice there was some “wobbling” going on with the brass casings when I was priming them. The primers seem to have seated fine, but now I’m worried that I screwed up the case shoulders or something. Thoughts? Will these rounds be fine to finish loading, or should I decap them and resize using the correct shellholder?

With rare exceptions, shell holders are cut to the same depth of 0.125 inches, plus or minus manufacturing tolerances. A different shell holder should not make any difference in the head clearance of your re-sized cartridge. (Again, within manufacturing tolerances.) Each of my die boxes contains the appropriate shell holder, even though it will mean duplicates for cartridges with the same head size. It just makes life simpler.

Uncommonly, some shell holders are intentionally cut at varying depths, which allows a handloader to better match the resized cartridge to the chamber's headspace. As an example, you could have a die reamed at maximum tolerance, trying to re-size for a chamber reamed at minimum tolerance (i.e. "long" die and "short" chamber). A shell holder of a non-standard depth could help with that problem.

Another tool you may want to consider is a case length/headspace gauge, particularly if you're re-forming .223 brass to .300 blackout. Midway USA has L E Wilson gauges (item #714043 at midway) on sale for 16$. Hornady also makes a similar product.

Last edited:
Each of my die boxes contains the appropriate shell holder, ...
Mine also. But I actually keep ''two' in each box. One for the press, and then one for my hand primer. As you say it just makes it easier.