Used Remington 700P

ks_wayward_son

I decided to go ahead and possibly purchase a .308 of some kind instead of "another 1911." I already have a few ARs in standard 5.56/.223 so thought I should add something that would stretch the yardage. It will pretty much be a range toy for blasting fun, not really wanting to go hardcore long range yet. Plus, it would be great to round out a top three in calibers; 9mm, 5.56, and the .308 ammo shortage notwithstanding.

So Arms Unlimited has used 700p's on sale for a pretty attractive price...this is definitely a possible splurge purchase.

I already have a Savage 110 in .30 06, but would like a .308.

A total NOOB question about bolt actions. Are the .308 Winchesters and 7.62 NATO rounds interchangeable in a bolt gun? No concerns about pressure tolerances like in ARs chambered in 5.56 vs .223? (See, total noob):o

If I do get one I will have to research the crap out of possible optics for it. Off the top of my head I am thinking either a Vortex PST or something along the lines of the Burris XTR series.

Go with a used 700p for 750.00?

There are differences in max pressure between 308 and 7.62X51. But the reverse of 223/5/56. The military 5.56 CAN be loaded to higher pressures than the civilian 223, and theoretically shooting 5.56 in a 223 chamber could cause issues. It probably won't, but there is a remote possibility.

With 308/7.62 it is the civilian 308 that is loaded hotter. You won't have any issues shooting 7.62 in a 308 bolt rifle.

I would be wary of a used Remington M700. If its a new model, the quality has been hit or miss lately. If its older, I wouldn't be concerned. There usually is a reason a M700 is available used....

If you want a very accurate rifle, look at the Tikka and Bergara rifles. Usually cheaper that the SPS, and probably more accurate.

I went with Bergara. Its bases on the M700 action, and all aftermarket parts will fit.

The HMR is a sweet rifle.