unprotected ears = flinch???

Status
Not open for further replies.

e a c

Inactive
I'm kind of new to the handgun scene, and I've never fired a handgun without ear protection. The noise from a 9mm or a .40 is really loud. How could one expect to defend one's life, without ear protection, and not flinch? How is one expected to really react to the deafening noise, especially withing a closed area (inside). Television portrays a gunshot sound no louder than a cap gun! Has anyone out there had to defend themselves with a handgun, and could you please reveal if noise a major factor? Any experiences where a gun saved you or your family's life?

EAC,

In a jackpot situation, you most likely won't notice the noise. You'll experience time distortion, tunnel vision, and reduced hearing, as well as some other effects.

BUT, make sure you have good hearing protection when you're practicing live-fire, regardless of caliber. If you can afford tactical gear (like ProEars or Peltor), go for it. They're not practical on the street, but they're great for home.

HTH.

------------------
"Janet Reno is the fire that ignites my loins."
--Joe Cartoon

Thankfully I have never had to use any of my personal weapons to protect life or limb...

But I am sure if I did, the loud BANG!!! from my weapons would be the least of my worries... in a life or death scenerio!!!

The noise could also serve as a "GOOD" thing as it does two things that you do not have too...

1) It alerts others to the danger (i.e. neighbors, pedestrians, LEOs etc. etc.)

2) 10 out of 10Xs it probably scares the S---! out of any other would be attackers in your home or other environment...

Some guns are louder than others, I have found shooting .357 mags deafining at times, even with ear protection...

I shoot .45ACPs which are generally subsonic that aren't any problem on my ears, with just standard ear plugs...