Trigger for M&P 15-22

idek

I've asked questions in the past pertaining to building my first AR. Instead, I've gotten an M&P 15-22.

It's the MOE SL version with Magpul stuff on it. I like it but am curious about trigger upgrades.

I will mention that this is NOT being used as a trainer rifle for a defense/combat AR, so the suggestion of "use what you have on your real AR" does not apply. The gun will just be a plinker and maybe used for some small game. I have several other .22s with trigger weights ranging from about 2.5-4#, so I'd like something in that ballpark. Also, I think I would prefer a single-stage trigger, but I am open to two-stage (not very knowledgeable about this).

I've looked on some websites and see some drop-in options below $200 that I think might work. That includes options from CMC and Timney. I have Timney in a bolt rifle. I have no experience with CMC.

Can anyone offer suggestions? Also, I don't know if any particular triggers won't work with the 15-22, so if you know something about that, I'd appreciate your input.

The CMC triggers are kinda rough. Well made, but not as nice as a Timney. Go for the Timney for the extra few bucks. Or you can look around and find knock-offs for a little less.

Larue MBT. They are a fantastic trigger at a reasonable price. I would put it up againt timminey or any of the other higher end drop in styles.

Thanks for the input. I will look into the various suggestions.

One more question...

When I search for "M&p 15-22 trigger" one of the top results was from velocitytriggers.com. (I've never heard of the company before) Most of their triggers are listed as having a 3# pull weight. However, for the 22LR ARs, they say their 4# trigger (which has a heavier hammer spring) is a better choice to get better primer strikes on rimfire cases.