Trap question

Poodleshooter

Yesterday I shot 2 rounds of 5 stand trap for the first time in years. Since my main interest in trap,skeet or clays is to improve my shooting abilities for hunting, I almost always start my gun at belt level to simulate the need to mount quickly. This also forces me to learn to mount the gun properly. The guys at the range seemed surprised that anyone would do this! I shot 72% (lots of bad breaks though). For those of you who shoot trap frequently, do you start low gun, or is it common at your local ranges???

I'm no trap expert, but I do shoot it a little. other than myself, I've seen few folks start from a low gun postion. The local legends use trap style stocks, longer than usual on a field gun, which makes starting the gun at the shoulder nigh mandatory.

Used to work at a trap and skeet range and I never saw any of them shoot (in the big matches)without shouldering the weapon first. I have seen them snap shoot like that during pratice when they were screwing around but it is not doen during a serious tournament.

I do know that in International Skeet you do start with the weapon low by the belt line.

It's rare to see someone shooting low gun at trap. It's unheard of in trap competitions. Although you might be shooting to tune up for hunting season, there are a lot of trapshooters who never hunt. As Dave mentioned trap stocks are longer. They are often higher and have very thick recoil pads that would make a smooth mount very difficult. The other point is most dedicated trap guns are in the 8 pounds plus range and you might get a little weary lifting up that weight a couple of hundred times during a registered shoot.

It's good practice before hunting season to start shooting low gun if you are regularly shooting pre-mount games. It helps me get readjusted to double triggers, auto safety and lateral barrels. I like to wear my hunting vest and boots, too.