TOW Bucks County Rifle Kit Update #18

duelist1954

In this update #18 on my Track of the Wolf Bucks County rifle kit.

In this update I installed the Toe Plate.

Here's the video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N-xXp5RFWlM

During the inletting I chipped out a piece of the stock. I'd like recommendations on how to fix this. It is unsupported, so I'm not sure what will work.

I'll post pictures in a few minutes.

Here is the area that I chipped out...not sure how to fix it, so all ideas are welcome.

pogTGq7.jpg

C0uwyQj.jpg

From a newbie who has already made that mistake

You are probably going to have to remove the toe plate and inlet and glue in a larger piece ( deeper / wider )that goes under the toe plate and then re- inlet it the patch. I am a novice and building my first rifle, and have done this several times and it works pretty well its almost invisible if you take your time. I really enjoy your series and anxiously await each update. Hurry and get to the application of finish please. I have attached 2 photos where I inlaid a piece and they are very hard to see.

Have a Happy, Prosperous, Healthy and Safe New Year
jspappap

HPIM1296.JPG

HPIM1295.JPG

If I may comment here Duelist .
you inlet the toe plate before you brought the stock down towards finish dimensions fare enough . I say this because in your 2nd photo I can see that there are still chisel marks that are under the cheek piece , that appear to be deeper then the sanded area along the toe. By the time you take those down so you have a slow taper to the toe of the butt plate , there doesn’t look “at least from my end , “ to be any wood left to surround the nose of your toe plate . IE that chip is going to be gone by the time you feather all that out so you have a smooth transition back from the triggers to the butt ..

I watched your video on inletting the TG . I do all my inletting much the same way .