To shoot or not to shoot?

Aquajunky02

I'm new to deer hunting and I've been working on getting deer into my chosen spot. Today I finally caught on my trail cam what I feel maybe a worthy candidate for a tag? Now I'm not an expert at judging deer scores or age I was hoping someone else maybe? Here is the buck in question. Any idea on score/age? If he is still young and has potential to get bigger I don't necessary kill him yet. What's the verdict shoot/ let walk?
e5f61c4008bb0d1ba28cdbef2145664d.jpg

7e9f2b81882b027bed578e77d089db88.jpg

442ecca9e773022ba1bb4a26baa89c26.jpg

I have never even once hunted deer in my life... I know next to zero about the sport, but I am interested in any reasons why someone would pass on taking that elegant animal.

Looks to me like the kind of buck a newish hunter would DREAM of having a chance at.

Because he is a couple of years away from being prime.

My guess is also about 3 1/2 y.o. ........For meat quality, he's a couple years past being prime.

Just the same, I'd shoot him: that's a LOT of sausage and jerky!

Barring normal misfortunes of life and death in the wild, he's probably a year from his biggest rack- his neck is still in proportion to his chest, and his back/belly is starting to droop ......

It would be no question for me. I'd shoot that joker. Where I am from that is a monster of a deer and they just don't get that big very often. Kudo's to you OP and if you get him you will have a trophy worthy of display,

You have to ask?? I don't care about all the official stuff but other than what's legal or not that bad boy would be in the ice chest!

up in these parts, that's a BIG buck for a white tail. definitely a tagger. down in texas... that's considered a baby yet.

then again, up here, average mature buck can reach 180+ pounds easy and 200 pounders are common, down in texas from what I've heard average weight is in the 160-ish range.