Tips on reducing recoil anticipation/flinch when shooting hard-kicking rifles

ezmiraldo

Hi guys!

I'm shooting 30-06 savage, and want to lean how to reduce recoil anticipation (which I might possibly have). Here's what I do:

• dry-firing at home, and I practicing follow-through (pressing the trigger to the back and keeping the sight picture and everything else the same for 1 sec after trigger clicks).
  • wearing ear-muffs over ear-plugs to minimize sound-disturbance effect.
  • trying to relax my body as much as possible before the live round goes off.

What are some other tips and techniques you can recommend for not flinching when shooting relatively stout caliber loads? I know that 30-06 is no magnum, but I'm a beginner and the kick is noticeable to me.

Really looking forward to your advice, as always! :)

Last edited:
I'd just forget about it. The recoil that hurts happens after the bullet leaves the barrel. It's not going away. Mentally challenge it and it won't bother you any more.

Take a friend to the range with you to load the rifle so you cannot see if he put a live round in it. Then shoot it. You may well be cured after enough clicks on empty chambers then he laughs at your behavior enough to embarras you to stop.

Last edited:
For me it's just accepting it. I know there is a loud bang and a kick and I will be unharmed in the end. I do have more of a problem shooting a 44 mag revolver but for me, acceptance is the key.

Yes the 30-06 kicks pretty hard. I have them and like the rifles and I use 150 gr loads now and make sure the rifle has a soft recoil pad.

They say most game can be taken with the 270 or even smaller.

If your rifle does not have a soft Decelrator type pad on it now consider trading it for a 270 or less with a softer pad.