Tips for home-made gun safe?

pocat

I've recently been considering building my own gun safe. I work as a welder, so I have access to the equipment as well as getting the material at a discount rate.

I've never considered buying one due to the cost, but as my collection has grown over the past several years, I'd like to fabricate one to fit my needs and also save money. Although I'm not familiar with the different designs for safes, I plan on checking out some at the shops to get ideas. I hope to build something unique, so I'm not ruling out any ideas like a hidden wall safe or something along those lines.

I currently have 5 long guns and 5 handguns, along with about 2000 rounds of ammo (not counting .22's). I expect that count to grow over the years.

I haven't even tried to estimate the dimensions yet, but I'm looking for suggestions and ideas for the construction. If affordable, I'd like to make it fireproof (resistant) but I need details on the materials needed. Metal thickness, mounting, hinge and locking specs would help a lot.

Please submit any ideas and suggestions.
Thanks in advance.

Before you start, I'd recommend that you consider how you are going to lock it. I've toyed with the idea over the years and have never gotten around to doing it. Remember that with security, failure is always as easy as defeating the weakest link.

As for fireproof ... your best bet is probably going to be purchasing one already done. As I understand it, the fireproofing materials are sacrificial ... that is, you only get protected once ... it isn't that there is enough steel or whatever to just be fire proof ... I would seriously consider storing the ammo (at least the large quantities) somewhere else.

While you are looking for ideas, don't forget that in order to get a patent on something, you have to disclose enough details that someone "skilled in the art" could duplicate your product ... if you see something cool but can't figure out how they did it, then