Thumb-break vs. open-top holster

ReverendHobo

Seeing as I live in California, I have zero experience with carrying a gun anywhere outside of a public land during hunting, therefore my question may seem naive to many.

I have a simple but functional holster for my CZ 75B. It has a strap at the top, I believe it is properly called a "thumb-break" type. I have also seen holsters that do not have any strap. I tried to place a gun in some of them, then turn them upside down. The results were mixed. Some appeared to be holding the gun reasonably well (but not with the same confidence, I felt, as a thumb-break holster, and also pulling the gun out of some was quite a trick), some were outright iffy (gun appeared to be dangerously loose or would outright fall out).

My question is, am I missing something here (I know I must be)? How do people depend on the "open-top" holsters with their carry weapons and not be worried of the gun landing on the ground while bending over to pick something up or just working the gun out with the movements of the body? Is it perhaps that I only saw el-cheapo holsters that are no good (some of them were $50-$100 range)?

If this subject has been beaten to death already, I apologize as I couldn't find it (search function appears to be temporarily out of order).

Cocked and locked .45 in an open topped holster is my carry of choice.

I used to carry in a thumb-break holster but the thumb break kept clicking off my safety--a pretty poor design if ever there was one. I carry in a Galco Royal Guard. It's not top of the line like a Milt Sparks or an Alessi but it holds the gun securely.

My advice is to avoid cheapie open tops. I've had a gun take a tumble out of an Uncle Mike's nylon while I was bending over. I bought it because of price so I would have something while I searched for the holster I really wanted. Cheap is not a good idea.

Randy

Holster fit is amost a science... especially when talking about open top leather holster.