Those of you using engine oil on your guns….

Nathan

Here are a couple things to read/ watch:

Brownell’s: LINK

Internet:
LINK

Looks like engine oil runs off and leaves us at risk or rust. What say the folks who have been running a few years like this?

I use synthetic motor oil in blends for lubrication. My rust prevention is with a rag soaked with every lube I have ever used, or a brush with Oil, Lubricating and Preservative, Light from an Army surplus sale.

I would agree with the guys from Brownells. Use it on moving parts to reduce friction, but not as a rust preventative.

What's "a few years"? I've been using synthetic motor oil as a gun lube for at least twenty years, probably more. I haven't had any problems.

Anyone who thinks modern motor oils DON'T have rust preventive additives is on crack.

Here we go- The young guy at Brownell's is full of ...it.
And, so are most of the posters in the comments.

Here are my qualifications:
Steam and refrigeration engineer-45 years.
Custom gunsmith/engraver. Had FFL for 20+ years.
Trained jeweler.
Musician- professional bassist-55 years.
Cutler- I do museum-quality restorations on extremely expensive cutlery. I make knives. I design knives. I collect knives.
Of course, I collect guns.

I have used WD40 since at least 1972. I have never seen it "gum." At least 10 years ago, I sprayed some WD40 into a small applicator bottle. The carrier evaporated within months-even though there was a cap on the bottle. All that was/is left is a light mineral oil. I have posted pictures here several times.

As an engineer, I used WD40 as a handy lube/rust preventative/penetrating oil.
As a gunsmith, I used it for cleaning, lubrication, and rust prevention. I have guns with no finish at all that have been protected with WD40 for 30+ years.
As an engraver, I use it to lubricate my hand gravers, and to lube the stylus on my engraving machines.
As a jeweler, I use WD40 on my buffing wheels. It makes them cut smoother.