Thinking about open carrying

Status
Not open for further replies.

Brundo

Inactive
Before a debate starts, let me say this; I intend to conceal carry (planning to get my permit some time later this year or next). I think conceal carrying is great and definitely a better fit for my life style, not that I think OC is a bad fit for my lifestyle. That being said, due to planning my wedding, funds are on the tighter side of things and I can't afford the class or permit right now. So, let’s try to keep the CC vs open debate to a minimum.

I recently purchased a handgun for carrying but so far it just sits in my house, only seeing the light of day when I take it to the range. My thought is that a carry gun sitting in a room is only slightly better than no gun at all. I started asking myself if OCing is 1) something I would be interested in? 2) something I could do more-or-less day to day (I'm a student at Colorado State University = no OC on campus)?

I understand that there are a lot of pros and cons to OC. So, what should I think about before I give OC a try? Practically speaking, what should I know? I have read up on CO laws. So that's it. I defer to y'all.

With all the crap that’s been happening recently I personally won’t open carry unless I’m hiking in the hills. Some yuppie will see it and get the wrong idea even though it is completely legal where I live.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I went to school in Boulder which was a far sight worse as far as that goes.... Open carry really won't work in that area unless you are out in the grasslands, the hiking trails in the hills are not exactly solitary.

If it is not reasonably in your budget then just wait. I want to say I paid $150 ish for fingerprinting and permit fees but I did not have to take a class (military pistol qual).