Thinking about a military semi-auto.

Grayfox

Ok, boys and girls, here's the deal. I've got a couple guns to sell plus I'm gettin' a pretty good tax refund. Add the fact that the antis are pushing hard and I'm thinking if I'm ever going to get an "evil assault weapon" its now or never.
Problem is I don't know much about 'em. I've had some experience with others M1As and Garrands. Spent some time with Uncle Sam's issue M-16, but I never really thought about buying one for myself until now. I'm not even sure if I should get one. I just don't like the idea that someday I might not be able to buy one.
First question: Should I or shouldn't I?
And of course that leads to what kind? What caliber? etc.
Things to consider: price, avalibility of GOOD twenty round mags, avalibility of CHEAP reloadable surplus ammo, quality manufacture, reliablability.
I'm not the biggest fan of AR-15's but could this be the best choice for money spent?
I'm leaning toward the M1A since I am familiar with the M-14 and already shoot and reload .308. But its expensive and heavy.
Fal? How do you tell inch from metric? Which is better?
What else is out there?

Well, I opened this can of worms. So let me have it! Do it or not? :confused:

------------------
Strength is the outcome of need; security sets a premium on feebleness. H.G. Wells The Time Machine

If you go with an AR, stick with the reputable mfgrs-Bushmaster, DPMS, Colt (used), Olympic etc. All these mentioned with the exception of some Colts are basically mil-spec and will accept mil-spec parts (less expensive). Also with the AR style, there are a myraid number of combinations that can be had. All the way from 7inch 9mm DOE entry guns (class three) to 24 inch stainless bull barrel varminters. I personally have two lowers with three uppers to switch around.
Don't know much about M1As.