The MOA Formula For Calculating MOA Clicks For A Shot Less Than 100 Yards If Zeroed At 100 Yards?

adn258

So I'm just learning the basics of longer range shooting. I know 1 MOA is 1.047. So if you're looking a ballistics chart and ABC round is zeroed at 100 yards but has a 6 inch drop at 200 yards (hypothetically)

You would take (1.047*2) = 2.094 and then 6/2.094 2.86MOA. Let's round up and say 3 MOA so if you had a 1/4th MOA per click scope you would want to adjust up 12 MOA or 12 clicks.

Alright, that all makes sense, but let's say we take the following ballistics image of 10mm auto for example:

imageproxy.jpg

This is for a gun zeroed at 100 yards using 10mm. Alright, let's say I did that, and I know 50 yards would likely be smarter using 10mm but just for the sake of argument.

The gun would be shooting way too high at 25 yards if it were zeroed for 100 yards given the fast drop of 10mm auto. It looks like the bullet has an 11 inch drop almost from 25 yards versus o 100 yards.

So I'm guessing 25 yards 1.047/4=0.261MOA so if I wanted to adjust elevation DOWN to compensate for the closer distance it would be 11/0.261 = approx 42MOA but on a 1/4thMOA per click scope that means you would need to adjust 168-169 clicks down....this can't be right or is it?

What am I missing here? Thanks for your help guys as I learn this stuff!

What is the correct way to calculate this?

Get some paper and make drawings. Its easier to see.

A major point to consider ,particularly at closer ranges,is sight height above the bore.
Lets not go off to the weeds.but if your sight height is 1.5 inches, Remember your 1/4 moa clicks are good for about 1/16 in each at 25 yds.

The bullet begins to fall,per Gravity,as soon as it leaves the muzzle,relative to the line of the bore. The bullet does nor "rise" above the line of the bore.