Temperature and Thermometers

coachseeley

Inactive
As far as thermometers go, I have a couple of questions.
1. How do you keep the thermometer off the sides of the pot and from giving you a false reading. I'm thinking that the closer the thermometer is to the bottom of the pot, closer to the heat source that is (and especially if it's touching the iron), then conduction will cause the thermo to give a false reading. Or, am I being too technical? (I'm a science teacher, so I might be analyzing this too much).
2. Anyone ever use those digital infrared thermometers while casting. My Pop uses one with hot oil when he's frying stuff. Would one of those work for reading Pb temperature?
Thanks.

My casting thermometer has a clip that holds the tip where I want it and keeps it away from the side of the pot. I'm thinking about IR but not sure it will give a good reading on molten Pb, read an interesting post about that around here somewhere yesterday. I may wind up with IR someday for other applications but I think I'll get better results from the conventional thermometer.

On my Lee magnum pot I just took a length of bailing wire and wrapped one end several times around a pencil to make a coil appx. 1/2 in. tall and ran the other end around a support post on the back of the pot draping the coil over the edge of the pot. I set it so it suspends appx. 1 in. above the rim of the pot and at an angle to keep the gauge away from the middle of the pot and the stem near the middle. The gauge angles away from you but I dont have to check it all that often anyway. Works great for me . I got my thermometer from Roto Metals. Are the same as the RCBS but less money . Dont know anyone using digitals at this time . 10 Spot

Last edited: