Tell me more about these old S&W's

rshull07

Inactive
So my grandfather is starting to pass down his gun collection one at a time to myself and the other grandkids. So far I've gotten a Remmington 870 Wingmaster, a S&W Model 52-2 and most recently a S&W K22 Masterpiece.

The 52-2
54845ecaa0c0e7cf596bf98cf1f9b74f.jpg

And the K22
a1dbb8a9ba01d7d558636edeeee2f71b.jpg

All of these are in MINT condition...not a scratch on any of them. I'm still pretty new to gun collecting and I don't know much about the Smiths. I'm primarily looking to find the date of manufacture and just more info from someone who knows about these.

Should I fire them? Or just do my best to keep them minty fresh? And what's the best way to clean and store the handguns so that I'll be able to pass them down to the next generation?

Thanks!

The 52 and k-22 are easily $1,000 each, or more, in value, especially if you also have the original boxes, papers.

Best find a good appraiser and not rely on forum opinions as to value, what to do with them.

Ask your granddad how he kept them so pristine. He might even have an idea as to worth.

If you can post the Serial Numbers, i.e. C52XXX. Serial number of k-22 will be on the handle/butt of the gun; the 52 it should be on left side near where it's marked 52-2 such as 123XXX. Needn't post whole numbers, just letter prefix and first couple numbers.

Please reduce the size of your pictures. 1024 x 1024 is far too big.
Mint means unfired and exactly as they came out of the factory. Those are close. Are closer if they're unfired. Absolutely if they have the original boxes. If you shoot either and they have not been fired you will drop their value by half
A Smith 52 is a highly desired target pistol. Designed to shoot WC's only. One of 'em sold on Gunauction in 2010 for $1100.