Teaching the gf to shoot.

cobra246

Inactive
Ok so i have been shooting for 4 years and got my dad into shooting as well. But teaching dad was super easy because he is really good with his hands and has the strength and size to comfortibly handle heavy recoil. My girlfriend on the other hand has never even held a gun before and is "fun sized" if you will. She wants to learn how to shoot. Im kind of at a loss as to where do i start.

Most of my guns are heavy hitters, a couple 12ga shottys, a couple of .45s, a .44 cap and ball, a 20" AR, and a 9mm competition pistol. Not really a beginner friendly selection.

Any tips? Ideas?

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

Everyone needs a decent 22. Get a Ruger 10/22 and have fun. Don't be like the fool I saw a couple years ago. On the 50' pistol range (public - state park), he had his girl heft a Mosin-Nagant. She could hardly hold it. Put it on her bicep and, after considerable waving about, fired a shot 5' high. I was about to call the range officer, but that was it for her. They left. Bet she never shot again. Unless she was a fool, that would be their last date. (I know, they never learn, do they.) Shoot at something that reacts, spinner targets or good 'ole pop cans. Paper is kind of boring to newbies. Don't forget the safety lecture and demo. Good luck!

Two sperate issues, one being teaching someone to shoot, two being teaching a gf/wife/fiance etc....anything. First off get her something that not going to be punishing to a small framed person, a nice 22 pistol perhaps, then work up to a nine. Have someone else teach her, buy her a lesson to a ladies only firearms class. Make it fun!

Everyone needs a decent 22.

Indeed.

A new shooter needs one to learn fundamentals while not being beaten up by noise and recoil. Many of us have seen the moron at the range who puts a 44 magnum in his girlfriend's hands to show her she can't handle his manly weapons. That guy teaches her to hate shooting.