Tasco Optima 2000

J33Nelson

I am looking to mount the Tasco Optima 2000 sight on my Sig Pro 2034. I was just wondering what the experts on this site opinions are on that?? Some questions you could answer for me...

1) Is it a good idea to mount the Tasco Optima 2000 on my Sig and why??

2) Is there a better site out there for my sig??

3) Does anyone use or has used the Tasco Optima 2000 and what do you think of it??

Thanks in advance.

Sig.357

i'm no expert but i play one in my mind

I have a Optima on my Glock 21. It is a fun little toy. Aquisition is fast and it holds a zero well. You did not state how the pistol will be used. For informal or formal (where rules permit) target shooting it is a good sight and priced very reasonably. For defensive purposes though, most will say electronic sights are not the way to go and I agree. To keep the thing off and the battery from running down you must keep the cover on. An assailant is not gonna wait for you to remove the cover on your sight before doing you the harm he/she intends. Also, in low light conditions I find that bright red dot to be a little distracting. Finally, for a handgun you intend to use for self defence, the KISS principle should be employed.