Talk to me @ Shadow Systems DR920

JohnnyT

Inactive
What are the opinions on the Shadow Systems models? Im looking at the DR920 Elite and wondering if it is worth the price over the Glock 17? I have heard good things about Shadow Systems, yet have also heard there was an issue with magazines releasing unexpectedly on some model. I also read that there wasn’t a hardware issue causing that, more of people gripping it oddly and hitting the release. Would love to hear opinions on them, seems they haven’t been around very long and I do worry about the future availability of parts if needed.

Thanks for any discussion,
JohhnyT

I have an MR920 Combat with an optic cut, so the G19 as opposed to the G17 version. I can give you my experience.

I’ve never had an issue with inadvertently dropping magazines, though I had read that as well. The magazine release is somewhat more extended than a standard Glock magazine release, but again it wasn’t an issue for me.

As for availability of parts, while the slide and frame are unique, the majority of parts can be replaced with factory Glock parts if need be, so I wouldn’t be overly worried about finding parts now or in the future.