Taking the Plunge

JKump

I have been thinking about handgun hunting lately. The last two seasons I have hunted with a single shot rifle and carried a handgun with me. I will be hunting middle Georgia white tails mainly (but may have to shot at hogs). I currently own a stainless Taurus Tracker 4" .357 mag.. I am comfortable with this handgun and caliber. As a Police Officer I carry a handgun everyday a Sig P220 45 on duty and either a Taurus total ti 2" 357 mag or Taurus ultra lite 38 off duty. I have qualified with both of 357 mags..
What I need is good recommendations for a hunting handgun, both model and caliber. And I need a good factory load, since I don't reload. Hunting mainly deer (possibly a hog if presented). Hunting lightwoods, longest possible shot around 75 yards with most shots between 15 and 30 yards. Also is optics needed and which one. Thanks in advance for any input.

The options are numerous and as varied as the individual hunter!

Personally, I prefer heavier caliber, even for deer - .44 mag. Though a .41 would be perfectly adecuate for whitetail and many espouse hard hitting loads in the .357 mag as plenty good medicine for them.

The gun - really any good quality revolver would do - I'd find one similar to your Taurus, simply to make the most of your familiarity with its manual of arms and feel. Probably thier DA .44 mag would work admirably. I'd go with a slightly longer barrel to take advantage of higher velocities and longer sighting plane... 6" barrel at least.