TACK DRIVING .308

Dikyllis

I am interested in purchasing a real tack driving rifle!! Something that shoots sub MOA at 100 yds., yet can reach out several hundred with accuracy. Being a college student, I am on a budget. To date, my research has pointed me in the direction of the REM.700PSS. Any information will be appreciated. Thanks

Remington Varminter. Virtually the same gun, but with a slimmer (at the grip and forearm and less one swivel stud), handier stock which is more portable in the field. In Vietnam, target stocks were tried but snipers had them traded for the lighter, handier sporter configuration stocks.

The current trend for sniper stocks is towards fat beavertail stocks with pistol grips approaching ninty degrees. If you have this month's Tactical Shooter magazine, check out the Chandler Bros. article on rifle stocks. They compare a the shape of the newer "sniper" stocks to canoe paddles.

------------------
Vigilantibus et non dormientibus jura subveniunt

Dikylls:
As it was expressed the varmiter stocks are quite good. I used them in a T-Hole configeraton and they worked out very well. You had mentioned a "Tac Driver" in .308. The photo on my web page is of the caliber and MOA you describe. 1/4" at 100 machined.

http:members.tripod.com/~stock4broker/Firearms.html

The "Cody" is described on that page, and you may want to consider this type configuration.

Mauser 98 action, 24X scope, dot reticle, t-hole stock, with Cody Mounting system, set trigger.

HJN

Lots of guys over at varmint hunter magazine were buying up savage Tactical rifles in .308 a few years back. They figure out what a lot of us savage owners know already. They shoot really well!

I currently shoot a savage 116fsak in 30-06 with a "compact fluted staniless bbl and adjustable muzzle break. I average .5 to .75 three shot groups with a tasco 3x9 world class 40mm scope and burris rings using dqad's special recipie sierra 165gr sbt game king bullets at 2800fps.