Systema worthwhile?

KeithC

Inactive
Does anyone have first-hand experience with Systema as a fighting system? I'm a MA newbie & still trying to find what "fits" best. Krav was an excellent choice but I was spending twice as much time commuting to the school as I was training. Frankly, I punked out.

There's a local school that offers Systema training and my initial impression (free class) was that it seemed as instinctive as KM. A little weird, but still straightforward and, for lack of a better term, comfortable. Almost the Aikido version of Krav.

Web searches don't turn up much that's useful. I either find glorified ads for it or people having a pi**ing match over whether it's all hype and no substance. I can't put too much on the fact that the instructor wiped the floor with me because if it was all that difficult to do, I wouldn't be looking for good training. :D

So... any feedback or reviews? Is it worth my time and money or should I suck it up and get back to KM?

Thanks much,
Keith C.

KeithC:

I have no direct experience with "Systema" but I have had the distinct privledge of training with Scott Sonnon (www.rma.tv & www.subjectcontrol.com).
Scott is the prime mover behind ROSS in the US. I was very impressed with the elements of ROSS that I was exposed to during a law enforcement defensive tactics seminar that Scott taught. ROSS and Systema share a common heritage and I would expect that there is good to be gained from Systema.

Thank you, Paul. It can be a little overwhelming for a newbie to sort the data from the hype. Input is appreciated.

Much obliged,
Keith

If you get some gear and a partner, then you could do some of the KM training on your own. Then again, you could do this with any system. You'd still have to travel for real instruction, but you could practice as much as you wanted to at home.