SWModel 10

zxc

Hello,
wondering if there's any specific problem to used Model 10s. Used for 130 bucks was offered -is this a good price? Thanks.

I still have a few in the safe from when that was all that I carried. If the timing is still on and it locks up tight without a lot of play in either direction then go for it. Check the muzzle for dings too...

Model 10 was and is a fine gun. Like Secmat said, check it out. Just as you should check out any gun before buying it. Or get return priviledges if mail order. Even brand new from major manufacturers have come through with gross safety and/or operational problems.

Sam

There's a way of telling if a model 10 is new enough to take +P .38s. I'm not an expert on classic S&Ws, but I seem to recall that the old "five screw M&Ps" was the "model 10" before it was actually called that. If it was called a "model 10" right when it first shipped, it should have a "10" stamped somewhere inside of the crane, on the part of the frame visible when you swing the cylinder out - and that's a good sign you can shoot at least moderate amounts of +P.

If I'm wrong, I hope to God somebody points it out :).

The 10 is a good, reliable revolver. Tougher than an equivelent Colt of the same period (Diamondback or similar), not quite as accurate but then the Colts were exceptional. That 10 will keep up with just about any modern 9mm in the accuracy department.

If you have a choice, get a "round butt grip" model over a square. I like how the rounds feel, so do many others. If you find you like more of a swell at the base of the grip, Hogue makes grips that convert round-butts into the square-butt feel so if you start with a round, you can go either way :).