Swivel stud screw too long for front of Marlin 60 stock... help please?

Just as the title says, the bolt/screw that goes on the front of the rifle on my Marlin 60w to install a sling mount is wayyyy too long, this is my first attempt to modify any rifle I have beyond basic stuff and I am stumped, I bought the Blackhawk! swivel studs+hardware at Walmart for rifles but im curious if I take this back, do gun shops usually carry smaller hardware so I can DIY this?

I really do not want to cut the screw because I read you can mess the threading up but Marlin really gave me no leeway because the front of the stock is so damn skinny, any advice is appreciated, thank you.

Poor man's custom stud cut as follows. Thread a nut on the screw. Cut the screw with bolt cutters, hacksaw, visegrips with a cutter in the jaw, or whatever you have. File the screw flat holding it with pliers, bevel the edges. Partially remove the nut and work the cut area with the threads in the nut. Touch up with a marksalot. It worked on the swivel stud I cut for my ar bipod mounting. KUSTOM!!! But it does work.

Zach is right. The key to getting a clean cut on a screw thread is to put the nut on before you cut it off and use the nut as a thread chaser.

I did not want to recommend a power tool. A Dremel wood do the job faster, better, and easier. You may bleed though.

I don't have a Marlin 60 to examine, but since that rifle has a tubular magazine, the foreend wood might not be thick enough to seat the standard nut, so you might be forced to use a swivel mounted on the magazine tube ahead of the stock. It would be better to do that than take a chance on having the foreend wood break out.

Jim

I don't have the model 60 but I have a Marlin 983s 22 magnum tube feed and it uses a threaded insert instead of drilling a hole and sinking that nut in the wood.

#56.
http://www.gunpartscorp.com/Manufac...33379/Rifles-37333/983S-39093.htm?results=All