"Stopping Power"

Status
Not open for further replies.

John Lawson

I've been a Law Enforcement Firearms Instructor since 1954. I have never believed in either "the magic Bullet" or "One Shot Stops."
Elmer Keith said it best in 1929: A well designed semi-wadcutter is best. I have used the H&G 68 bullet in .45 acp loads since 1946. I use foundry type to cast my bullets.
Phil Sharpe, in his book "Handloading" tells of a soldier who took his H&G mould with him to the South Pacific.
In this state, we teach a minimum response of two shots. Personally, I believe in keeping up the fire until the situation is in hand. You get the "one shot stops" with your .458 Win mag, not your handgun (on a regular basis, that is.)
Ed (Deputy Dawg) Sanow is a typical gun writer. Evan seems deeply impressed with his own abilities. History will judge us all.

John, as a fellow LE firearm instructor (but only a puppy compared to you), I'm with you too. I don't believe in any mythical magical bullets which will stop an assailant with a single shot and shot placement is more important.

Anybody who has read Charles Henderson's book on Carlos Hathcock, Marine Sniper should recall the time when Carlos shot some VC/NVA with his 30-06. The response was the VC/NVA charged him. Several more shots followed before the VC/NVA dropped. If a rifle bullet isn't guaranteed to do it, what chances does a handgun bullet have?

Stay safe!

------------------
Vigilantibus et non dormientibus jura subveniunt

Gray Area mantra..........Hard Fast Often Hard Fast Often Hard Fast Often.................

------------------
"All my ammo is factory ammo"

It is true, it has been proven that at least two shots must be placed on the target. If this two shots will be almost on the same area then it will create bigger hole diameter that cause death.

One shot kill, seems hard to believe for if a gunner start squeezing the trigger there is always a tendency to make follow-up shots.