Stopping power.

Status
Not open for further replies.

helleberg

Inactive
I am wondering about the stopping power of certain handguns. Will the small Kel-Tec .32 stop a would be attacker with one shot, two, more? Does stopping power depend a lot on the type of round being used? Of course, it depends into what part of the body the round is fired, but I am wondering if a shot to the leg with a .32 would be enough. I'm rather new to this subject. The last weapon I fired was an M-16 in the military. Some time ago the Kel-Tec was recommended on this board as one of the smallest handguns available. I'm just wondering about its effectiveness. Please elaborate. BTW, your forum is most interesting. You guys (gals too?) take the subject seriously and I enjoy reading all the knowledgable posts and replies. Thanks in advance for your comments.

Greetings, sir. "Stopping power" is a widely-discussed topic with varying opinions that's widely discussed here and elsewhere.
As you note in your post, placement is a prime consideration in whether or not a round will stop an agressor. No one disputes that.