Steyr vs Blaser vs ?

Sumtoc

Inactive
I'm shopping for a bolt action rifle for hunting and local competition. I've had various 700s and a Sako (I miss it dearly), but left shooting for about 15 years. Now I'm back and need some input.

I've seen/held the Steyr SBS rifles, a Sako, seen pictures of the Blaser 93. I want a .308 in a synthetic stock. Not looking for a scout rifle, wieght is not a major factor, but I don't want to carry around a 18 lb benchrest rig either. I reload. Assume a $1,500 point of pain. Can you provide comments/suggestions on:

1) Relative accuracy
2) POI drift in multi-shot strings
3) Other comparison points, pros and cons
4) Other options (700 with after market barrel, etc.)

Thanks....

I have a hunted with a 7mm Sako, a 7mm & .308 Blaser and I have limited experience with the SBS rifle, albeit a Scout. I have not yet gotten to hunt with the SBS.

I'd give the nod to the Blaser. There is nothing as rapid or as smooth in the multi-shot scenario as the Blaser. The ersatility of the multi-calibre nature is unsurpassed. The trigger, from the factory, is exsquisite.
Multiple shot strings at 200 yards can be covered with a half dollar, and I shoot rather quickly. The rifle could well be capable of keeping its shots within a quarter (1/2 MOA) at that range. I've shot a couple 3 shot-One hole groups at 100 yards.

The Sako, OTOH, is for my money, the smoothest stock bolt action out there after the Blaser. If you want a traditional bolt action, Sako is the way to go. The Sako will be heavier than either of your other two choices, noticibly so, I believe.

The SBS has a lot going for it, including the safety system and the very positive detachable mag system, but that has little hunting application. The rifle is light, but not much lighter than the Blaser. The Scout trigger is supposedly special, so I really can't judge the regular SBSs by it.. it, BTW, is exceptional.

Good Luck.