Starting To Look For a New One

I'm just starting what I expect to be a several month process of looking for a new muzzle loader. The one I've got is an 1800s original, which is lots of fun, but not good enough for competition.

At this point, I know I want a long barrel. At least 38". This is strictly a target shooting gun.

What I need input on is percussion versus flintlock, pros and cons. Also, any thoughts on calibers would be helpful. I've been told that for target shooting at 100 yards, at least .45 cal in needed. My current ML is .32

Since I might want to add custom sights, what about a custom gun, rather than an off the shelf gun that I'll want to customize?

All advice appreciated. I'm a novice at this. :)

Robert, I think youv'e got the right caliber in mind. There are many fine rifles available now-a-days since the sport of BP shooting has become so popular and you can have them tricked out with just about any gadget or sighting. I see many young people at the range who are learning this art and are loving it.
I would suggest that you buy a copy of some of the fine books by Toby Bridges or Sam Fadala on the subject. Fadala's books are indispensible to the beginning and even more advanced shooter.

I appreciate someone telling the truth about being new to BP. Many people who shoot nothing but cartridge guns of the modern sort think it's the same thing but it isn't. I'm going to list some very important things to remember when you are shooting whith BP. (I assume you know these but there may be others reading these threads who are attracted to the sport and don't and I don't want anyone to have an accident.)

Never smoke while using your muzzleloader or while near any quantity of black powder or PYRODEX®

Before loading, make sure the muzzleloader is not already loaded.

Check and clear the flash hole through the nipple before shooting.