Standard primer in place of magnum?

Prof Young

So, I'm out of magnum small pistol primers. I'd really like to load some 357 because I have all the components save for magnum primers.

I did some research and near as I can conclude, using a standard primer in place of a magnum may affect performance, but it's not dangerous. Is that an accurate assessment?

Life is good.
Prof Young

There is a lot of available data for 357 Magnum with standard primers, Speer for example. But if you are using Winchester 296 or Hodgdon 110 (same powder, different labels) then you should use a magnum primer.

There was a similar thread here on TFL.

It’s not dangerous, what powder are you talking about. Not that many actually require using a magnum primer. I’m no expert but in my experience the only two I would bother using a magnum primer with are H110/W296 or HS-6. I use neither in .357 and don’t even stock SPM’s. IMR 4227 might be another one, it’s been a while since I’ve used it but I do remember it leaving some unburnt kernels using regular SPP’s so maybe a SPM would fix that.

No issue at all then. The problem with harder to light and slower spherical powders is the possibility of getting a squib that sticks a bullet in the barrel, thereby creating an obstruction that damages the gun (and sometimes the shooter) on the next attempt to fire a round.

If you are loading a flake powder like Blue Dot or Unique you'll be fine. H110 may need a hotter primer. You can also use small rifle primers in place of magnums.

It's too bad that high-output primers were named "magnum." It lends itself to the common - and incorrect -inference that they are for magnum cartridges (357, 44 Mag, etc.).

Whether or not to use magnum primers is a function of the propellant; not the cartridge name.

In the case of TiteGroup - as Unclenick stated - it is super easily ignited and therefore does not need a magnum primer.

OMG, don’t start me on Titegroup in .357. Bad juju. Just my experience.