@stagpanther, and other tech nerds!

taylorce1

Here is an interesting video on Mach Trimming, on Ultimate Reloader with Bryan Litz. It's pretty chewy, and Litz knows far more in his little toe nail than I'll ever fully understand about ballistics. You can visibly tell how excited Litz is in his .22 lr research. It is definitely worth a watch, and thanks to rimfire shooters in competition like NRL driving rimfire sales right now changes are coming.

Last edited:
I am a GIANT fan of Brian Litz's work, and have a number of his research articles saved. This is interesting indeed. I love how he's revisiting converging groups. He studied that some years ago and theorized how hypothetically it could occur, but concluded that he couldn't make a model that showed convergence and he still wasnt a big believer in the phenomenon. I studied it a lot as I have a rifle that shoots converging groups. For the life of me, 100 yard groups are .8-1 moa, while 300 yard groups are .5-.6 moa.

This Mach trimming discussion is really interesting. And opens the question of convergence back up, though Brian appears to feel that it mostly applies to subsonic or barely supersonic rounds. The man is a genius, and he's done a lot more for our sport than most realize. Think back to the early days of these forums when most people balked at the idea of an out the box rifle that shoots sub-moa. These days, no one questions a person who claims a production bolt gun shots sub-moa groups. Certainly manufacturers (both rifle and ammo) have played a large role in that. But I think Brian Litz's work has contributed as well. Probably a lot more than we realize.

LOVED IT! Thanks Taylor. :)