Smith & Wesson negitive vibe?

Just4Fun

I read many of the posts on this board and occasionally I get a negitive vibe about the Smith & Wesson company.

I am new to the sport so I think I may have missed something...

Anyone what to fill me in....? Please.

C-ya!

The short answer goes something like this...

S&W signed an agreement to attempt to avoid a series of lawsuits brought by municipalities against several gun manufacturers in order to hold them liable for crimes committed with their guns. As I understand it, the legal logic went something like this: "If you, S&W, knew and/or encouraged your dealers to use business practices that increased the likelyhood of handguns being purchased or used by criminals or kids, then you are partially liable for the crimes and accidents that occur because of those actions or negligence." (paraphrased, not quoted)

The gun manufactureers prior to S&W's agreement had formed a (semi) united front against these lawsuits saying in effect that this was not a product liability issue and that rather it was a case of unsanctioned misuse of product by criminals and that it was clearly false to hold them responsible.

When S&W broke ranks and bowed to the legal pressure to form an agreement with the Clinton Administration, they did several things that angered most 2nd ammendment rights supporters, their dealers and other gun manufacturers:

1. They agreed to REQUIRE their dealers to adhere to certain business practices in order to sell S&W guns.
2. They implied by their capitulation that all gun manufacturers bore some responsibility for illeagal use of firearms.
3. They weakened the stance of the remaining manufacturers and compromised their legal position by not forming a united front.
4. They abandoned their institutional defense of 2nd ammendment rights in order to dodge a legal bullet in order to maximize profitability in the future through close ties with the govt.