Smith &a Wesson 65-2 357 Magnum question

snowman748

I recently picked up a Smith & Wesson 65-2 revolver in 357 Magnum with a 4" barrel. I ended up paying $424.99 plus tax. At first I thought I might have over paid a bit BUT I've been wanting a S&W revolver for a while especially in 357 mag. It's a police trade in, is milled to accept moon clips (not necessarily however) and has a Pacmyer grip on it (which I plan to switch to a Houge). Seems these are selling for around $500 on Gunbroker and revolver hold a premium in my area so I'm pretty happy with it.

My question is does anyone have any extra info about these models that would be useful? Years of production, what to look out for, where to buy moon clips, will it fit in any K-frame holster, etc.

I'm pretty new to Revolvers, I'm owned a Taurus (garbage), a Nagant, a few 22LRs, and a Ruger Security Six, but I've been a long time fan of S&W (I own a S&W SW22 Victory, a S&W M&P9 Performance Center, & a S&W M&P9C)...

I had a 4" model 65 that I enjoyed shooting. It fit all the holsters designed for K frames that I tried. My father has the revolver now. He enjoys shooting it with the grand kids and he keeps it loaded with .38 +Ps for a home defense gun.

Howdy

The Model 65 (357 Military & Police, Heavy Barrel Stainless) is a Stainless version of the Model 13. K frame, fixed sights, and three screws. Like the Model 13 it lacks the under barrel shroud often found on S&W 357 Magnum revolvers. The round butt version came with a 3" barrel and the square butt version came with a 4" barrel.

Introduced in 1974 it was produced up until 2004. 65-2 production started in 1977 and continued until the 65-3 was introduced in 1982. If you post the Serial Number, substituting Xs for the last two digits I might be able to zero in a little bit better on the year yours was produced.