smelt?

salvadore

I have been casting bullets for nearly forty years. ny on? Anyway, what's with all this smelting going on? You smelters getting lead out of galina? Just askin.

We say smelt when refering to melting down lead, fluxing, and pouring it into usable ingots. Smelting is the process of producing a metal from its ore. Are we misusing the word...yes. None of us are actually "smelting" lead. Hope that answers your question.

As long as I can still melt my wheel weights before making ingots, I'm happy.
BTW, I started fluxing with beeswax cause it smelt better than ear wax. Sorry, I tried not to do that.

Smelting: A metallurgical thermal processing operation in which the metal or matte is separated in fused form from nonmetallic materials or other undesired metals with which it is associated.

You smelters getting lead out of galina? Just askin.
It's Galena, not galina. The folks up there might be sensitive.

I smelt my lead in the summer and cast my lead anytime. ... ;)
It's all called; "Running Lead" .... :D

Be Safe !!!

I had over 1,200 pounds of wheel weights. I had the opportunity to smelt them down with the help of a friend and one of those huge plumbers pots. It did take a few days and lots of cold drinks.

(Yikes, was that pot loud! Sounded like a small jet engine!)

I believe in the old canard that the more work you do on the "front end" the less you do one the "back end." And in my case it was true.

I always add a touch of tin or solder to my stuff to make the pour easy, and because I got a lot of that stuff free or at lower cost. But boy, was casting easy and clean up a breeze! No greasy wheel weight clips, no slag, no really bad smells.

I am not a metallurgist so I cannot tell you if this "double boil" did anything to my actual bullets--I drop them into a bucket of ice between my knees just to be sure.

I did it for ease.