Smallest handgun available.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Olszta

Inactive
Hello,

I'm very new to the handgun scene. I just got my license to carry concealed (a breeze in New Hampshire) and am now wondering about what I should purchase. Basically, I am looking for the smallest handgun available that conceals nicely, however, not so small that it is useless. Also, ease of use and reliability. The Glock 19? seems to be the smallest and lightest. Does anyone have any other suggestions or help for this beginner? Thanks in advance!

Michael

Look into the Kahr K-9... it's even smaller that the Glock and just as sturdy. The Kahr can only hold a total of 8 rounds, if you feel safe with 8 rounds of 9mm, then go for the Kahr
http://www.kahr.com

There are many, many handguns that will fit your purpose, my suggestion is to determine the minimum caliber that you are comfortable with and go from there. If 9mm is your base, there are several pistols smaller AND lighter than the G19, including the G26(27?), and the Kel-Tec P-11, and if you can stand a little more weight to get a smaller size, the Kahr 9 and MK9 are both outstanding. Almost the same size of the G19 are the Sig 225 and 228, the HK P7M8(my own favorite, but not for everyone), and several others. Any of these will do it for you if you practice with them.

Don't overlook the lightweight revolvers that are becoming popular right now, those are a total joy to carry and will spoil you rotten in no time. If you can live with a revolver, I can heartily recommend any of the S&W Airwieght or Airwieght Ti series. Choose Wisely! Welcome Aboard!

------------------
With my shield or on it...

Many knowledgeable people use, as the previous poster suggested, a lightweight pocket revolver. These are very easily concealed and, in a pocket of tight jeans, in a pocket holster, the irregular shape actually helps break up the outline of a gun, i.e., it's not readily apparent what you've got in there.